Together – The Journey of Friendship

You could be heart-broken, may have lost out on that long-lost promotion, may have had a bitter fight with your parents or you may be just feeling lost in life. Whatever be the situation, there is one person who will always stand by you. In different people’s lives, they are different roles. For someone it will be mother or father, for someone it will be their spouse who is their shelter in difficult times, for someone it could be someone completely unrelated to them(they can’t even call that person a friend, because it will be too small a word to describe the importance of that person).

For me, that person is my dearest friend, Andrea. She came into my life all of a sudden. I am definitely sure that God sent her as my Guardian Angel at a time when I was completely broken and shattered. I had been in love with someone for two years and he had even asked me to marry him, however eventually we split up because his parents were dead against the relationship and he couldn’t go against them.

At that point in my life, I felt my life had come to an end. I didn’t know what to do. On the next day, I went to work and she was the new team member in my team. We started talking and eventually I ended up confiding in her and broke down. Have you ever felt a stranger becomes closer to you than anyone else you know? That’s how it was with Andrea and myself.

When I opened up my heart to her, she didn’t spend sympathizing with me or telling me how bad she felt for me. She presented the objective view of the situation to me, comforted by saying that I did my best and I should be happy and if things didn’t work, it is because they are simply not meant to be and there is no way I should blame myself for the end of the relationship.

That one day spent #together with her gave me the courage and strength to move ahead with optimism in life.

However, it is also countless such moments spent with her that are valuable and more precious than anything else in life. Those days spent #together in a coffee shop discussing our crushes, work problems and family issues, going shopping together and appreciating or criticizing each other’s choices, simply spending quiet time reading together, standing by each other through the toughest of times even when the entire world is against us, being each other’s courage even when we lose our own, believing in each other even when we lose confidence in ourselves – each moment is priceless.

The saying is so true – for most people a Home is a person not a place and for me that person is Andrea. I hope that when we are old with no teeth and hair, we are still Together in this Journey called Life.

If I don’t find my soul mate, what I would love best is to find a home to share with this friend/sister with the help of https://housing.com/ and always have someone to turn to in bad times and celebrate good times with.

2 thoughts on “Together – The Journey of Friendship

  1. Lucky you….everyone needs one such friend….
    I too have one such friend on whom I can confide anything but distance does take it’s toll. But I know she is always one call away.

Leave a Reply

