Rise Above Fear

I am normally a very confident person and deal with colleagues and clients completely confidently. My work is in client servicing and I face no shyness, fear or nervousness while dealing with a client or my colleagues.

However, there is one area where I face total nervousness and start developing cold feet – this area is public speaking. From childhood, I would avoid situations where I would need to address people from a stage or any platform. I had basically been a very shy person and would have difficulty interacting with people. When I started working, my shyness completely vanished with time and I was completely comfortable meeting new people and interacting with them. But my fear of public speaking is something I was sure I would never be able to conquer.

2014 has been a year for me where I have taken risks, chances, done things I have feared doing, lived life completely and with no inhibitions. The year was arriving to an end and I still had one more fear to get rid of.

In my organization, there is a storytelling session that we have every month. It is basically a day where chosen employees present case studies on path breaking media campaigns. We also have to give our own suggestions on how the campaign could have been even better. Two people from each team are chosen to present at this session. Wih my intention to face this fear and conquer it before this year ends, I nominated myself for this session.

I decided to do a presentation on one of my favourite campaigns – Kan Khajura Tesan by HUL. I wanted to start work on the presentation well in advance so that I could do full justice to it. I just didn’t want to read out from the screen as I normally did because I used to be so nervous. As luck would have it, two very important campaigns of my client came up at that very time. They had to be launched on 14th November and we were informed at the last moment by the client. I was working 10-12 hours a day to ensure the campaign launched on time. Needless to say, I didn’t get any time to prepare my presentation.

One day before the day of the session, I started working on my presentation. I prepared my presentation in 2 days because I couldn’t neglect the client’s work also. Hence, I didn’t get any time to prepare and practise for the presentation. We were four people presenting that day. I was the first one to present that day. I quickly read through my presentation and tried to remember the salient points, so that I could present it without reading it out.

I started the presentation and am really happy to say that I only looked at the screen once in a while and when I wanted to point something out to people and my storytelling session went very will with people appreciating it a lot. One more fear struck off the list in 2014.

Mountain Dew’s film also talks about facing and conquering your fears too. Watch it here:

You can know more about it on the Mountain Dew Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/mountaindewindia

Leave a Reply

