Ghost Story


Top post on IndiBlogger.in, the community of Indian Bloggers

After a long bout of sickness in the family and then falling sick myself, I am back to my greatest love – writing. Indiblogger’s latest Indispire topic is any ghost experience we have had. This takes me back to my time in Shillong. Shilling is theย quintessential hillstation with beautiful bungalows, pine-trees, lakes, mountains, tranquility and peace all around and of course lot of fables and tales surrounding it. We lived in a Bungalow in Pinewalk in Shillong. It had huge gardens all around with a long walkway and a white painted gate at the end.

As in all hillstations, there were a lot of stories of ghosts, supernatural beings and unnatural happenings. One such story really intrigued me as it was close to my home. I was 18 then and still was a child who believed in the magical, the supernatural. In the magical, I still do. So there was this story which my friends and I had heard about a ghost with feet facing backwards standing in front of my house gates everyday at 8 p.m.

Now, since Shillong is in the north-east of India, the sun rises very early there and sets very early. So, in the winters it would be pitch dark at 3:30 p.m. in the afternoon, the way it would be in other places at 11 or 12 p.m. No one would really venture out in Shillong in winters after it grew dark, primarily because it is so cold and also because of safety issues.So this story could be quite true.

All of us friends were rather curious to know if this was true. One day, we decided to find out. We took dad’s army car(an Ambassador with a driver, of course) a little before 8 p.m. and waited outside my house’s gate. We were five people in the car, squeezed in,rarely having ventured out at this hour, petrified as the hour grew nearer, jumping at the slightest sound or at the rustling of pine trees. And then it was 8 p.m. We waited with baited breath.

Suddenly, we see someone approaching and we clasp hands in fear. There was only one streetlight and we waited for that strange spectre to emerge. Suddenly, he appeared in full view under the light. And what do we see! He was only a poor guy with deformed feet. We felt terribly relieved and a little ashamed of ourselves.

We turned the car around and went back inside the warm confines of my home. For sometime, we were very quiet and then burst out laughing together, rolling on my bed and warmed ourselves with hot coffee.

So ended my ghost experience ๐Ÿ˜€

10 thoughts on “Ghost Story

    1. Yes, it is definitely a nice setting, Matheikal. And one of the places closest to my heart! Did you hear any such stories while you were there? Where were you staying?

Leave a Reply

