10 Books That I Simply Love!


Top post on IndiBlogger.in, the community of Indian Bloggers

From a very young age, my parents worked very hard to instill the love of reading in me. I am extremely grateful to them for this as to love reading is to never feel lonely in life. You have a bestfriend for life. So, as a part of the latest topic in Indispire on Indiblogger, here a list of my 10 favourite books.

1. The Malory Tower series: I was in school when I started reading the Malory Tower series. The good students, the bad students, the wicked students – I loved all of them. The midnight parties and all the mad but harmless antics of school girls was something I totally loved and still do.

2. The Nancy Drew Books: The Nancy Drew books are the story of three friends who are detectives and solve mysteries. The books also depicted the bonds of friendship, their romances and their capability in solving cases. In my teens, my favourite birthday gifts were Nancy Drew books.

3. The Hardy Boys: Anyone would consider The Hardy Boys are boys books, but I simply loved reading them. They are the same category of mystery books as Nancy Drew stories.

4. The Diary of Anne Frank: Anne Frank, a fun-loving gregarious girl who was a normal teenager. All she wanted was her friends, school life and fun. She was a Jew in the times of Hitler’s regime who went into hiding with her family. Every time I read this book, I cry. It is a wonderful book of human spirit, resilience and the value of human life.

5. Gone With The Wind and Scarlett: Gone With the Wind is a true classic. It is a book that truly painted a woman who lived life on her own terms and conditions, she is a woman who is practical and doesn’t shy away from taking on a world that was completely a man’s world and being successful at it, hated but grudgingly respected by everyone and the legendary love story of Rhett Butler and Scarlett ‘O Hara. 

Scarlett is the sequel to Gone With The Wind where Scarlett is heartbroken after separation from Rhett and goes to Ireland explore her roots. Another awesome book!

6. Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist – This book is about following your dreams and believing in them inspite of the people around you making fun of you and discouraging you all the time. I simply love this book.

7. The Harry Potter series: My list of favourite books would be incomplete without the Harry Potter series. I don’t know how many times I read the series and I can keep reading them again. The plot, the lessons you learn in the books, the importance of truly important things in life – the books are simply amazing.

8. The Shiva Trilogy by Amish Tripathi – These series of books will have you hooked from the first page of the first book to the last page of the last book. You will look at religion, Gods in a way that you will never forget. This series challenges all mindsets about religion, Gods, good and evil and will shake you up from inside and will have you permanently hooked.

9. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – A girl who has lived a loveless life as an orphan and grows up to build a happy life of her own, unconventional decisions and a strong-minded woman – a truly wonderful book.

10. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – Elizabeth, a sensible and intelligent who is surrounded by her foolish sisters and mothers – a fact that makes her a little arrogant and very quick to judge people. As you turn the pages, you find her perceptions changing, actually starting to understan how people can be different from inside and outside. A book that so many of us women will identify with.

20 Replies to “10 Books That I Simply Love!”

  1. Hi Arti,
    Great list here. Haven’t read Gone With The Wind and Scarlett, and am reading Pride and Prejudice. Read all of the rest, and love them all. Thanks for bringing back the memories. Malory Towers, wow, that was ages ago! Can’t believe how much we’ve grown! Read Enid Blyton’s St. Clare’s series? Much like the Malory Towers.

    1. Hi Narmadhaa. Hope I wrote your name correctly. I haven’t read all the St. Clare’s series. Malory Towers is simply such a lovely reminder of childhood. I can’t wait to introduce my nieces to them. You must read Gone with the Wind and Scarlett. You will love them.

      1. Thanks Arti, for getting my name right 🙂 Your nieces surely will have a great childhood with Enid Blyton’s books.
        And yes, I’ll be reading Gone with the wind and Scarlett. Also, after reading your top 10, I’m off to compile my own. Cheers 🙂

      2. You are welcome, Narmadhaa. Yes they surely will. My elder niece is seven, so I’ll get her started on them when she turns 10. I’ll look forward to your list.

Leave a Reply

